Browser Compatibility Notification
It appears you are trying to access this site using an outdated browser. As a result, parts of the site may not function properly for you. We recommend updating your browser to its most recent version at your earliest convenience.
Skip to Content

Capital Area Committee


On July 26, 2017 Council adopted By-law No. 4940, a by-law to approve the Capital Area Development Plan (the “Plan”). The Capital Area is that area of Yellowknife located around Frame Lake and is home to some important functions in the region, such as the Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories, City Hall, RCMP, Prince of Wales Northern Heritage Centre, Department of National Defence, as well as beautiful scenery, trails and connections to our collective history.

The Plan has an associated Committee called the Capital Area Committee and is guided by a Terms of Reference.

The role of the Committee is threefold; to clarify operations and maintenance, review proposals for development within the Governance Area, and to oversee the implementation of the Plan and Schedule of Initiatives.

The Committee consist of administrative representatives from:

Yellowknives Dene First Nation

  • Up to two (2) as identified by the YKDFN

The City of Yellowknife

  • Senior Administrative Officer
  • Director of Planning and Development
  • Director of Community Services

The Legislative Assembly

  • Clerk of the Legislative Assembly
  • Sergeant-At-Arms

Government of the Northwest Territories

  • Director, Lands Administration, Department of Lands
  • Director, Prince of Wales Northern Heritage Centre

Any additional representation as deemed appropriate.

Hours of Operation

Winter Hours effective following the Labour Day Weekend
until prior to the Victoria Day Weekend (September to May)
Monday to Friday: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Saturday and Sunday: Closed

Summer Hours effective following the Victoria Day Weekend
until prior to the Labour Day Weekend (May to September)
Monday to Friday: 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday and Sunday: Closed

Mailing Address & Phone Numbers

Yellowknife City Hall
4807 - 52 Street, P.O. Box 580, Yellowknife, NT X1A 2N4

Switchboard - (867) 920-5600
Mayor/City Administrator - (867) 920-5634
Booking Clerk - (867) 669-3457
Municipal Enforcement (MED) - (867) 920-5630
After Hours (MED) - (867) 920-2737
After Hours (Public Works) - (867) 920-5699