Browser Compatibility Notification
It appears you are trying to access this site using an outdated browser. As a result, parts of the site may not function properly for you. We recommend updating your browser to its most recent version at your earliest convenience.
Skip to Content

City Council and Mayor


aerial photo of Yellowknife


Mayor's Office
General Inquiries
4807 52 Street
P.O. Box 580
Yellowknife, NT X1A 2N4
Map this location
P. (867) 920-5693
F. (867) 920-5649
Email the Mayor
Web page

The Council of the City of Yellowknife is comprised of eight Councillors and one Mayor who are elected for three year terms.

Council meetings are held in the Council Chamber at City Hall on the second and fourth Monday of each month (except July, August and December) at 7:00 p.m. and are open to the public.

You can browse the Council Agendas and Minutes (current year) and Meeting Archives (past years).

Tentative 2020 Council and Committee Calendar

 Any person who wishes to speak at a City Council meeting may do so provided that notice is first given to the City Clerk's Office at 920-5602, no later than 10:00 a.m. on the Thursday preceding the Council meeting. Delegations (or presentations as they are more commonly known) pertaining to items on the agenda are heard by Council shortly after the meeting convenes. Delegations pertaining to items not at the agenda are heard generally after the business of the meeting has been dealt with. While there is no limit to the number of presentations which may be made by the public, the length of each is limited to five minutes. In the interest of time, presenters are urged to refrain from repeating the same information as previous speakers. 

The meetings of Council and its Committees are regulated by the rules contained in the Council Procedures By-law. Procedures have evolved over the years and are intended to facilitate efficient handling of Council business. The provisions of the Procedures By-law are observed both by Council and by its Committees.

The Mayor is the Chief Executive Officer of the City and is responsible for its overall operation.

Contact Council    
All Members of Council  
Mayor Rebecca Alty  
Councillor Niels Konge  
Councillor Shauna Morgan  
Councillor Julian Morse  
Councillor Cynthia Mufandaedza  
Councillor Steve Payne  
Councillor Stacie Smith  
Councillor Rommel Silverio  
Councillor Robin Williams  

Hours of Operation

Winter Hours effective following the Labour Day Weekend
until prior to the Victoria Day Weekend (September to May)
Monday to Friday: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Saturday and Sunday: Closed

Summer Hours effective following the Victoria Day Weekend
until prior to the Labour Day Weekend (May to September)
Monday to Friday: 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday and Sunday: Closed

Mailing Address & Phone Numbers

Yellowknife City Hall
4807 - 52 Street, P.O. Box 580, Yellowknife, NT X1A 2N4

Switchboard - (867) 920-5600
Mayor/City Administrator - (867) 920-5634
Booking Clerk - (867) 669-3457
Municipal Enforcement (MED) - (867) 920-5630
After Hours (MED) - (867) 920-2737
After Hours (Public Works) - (867) 920-5699