Browser Compatibility Notification
It appears you are trying to access this site using an outdated browser. As a result, parts of the site may not function properly for you. We recommend updating your browser to its most recent version at your earliest convenience.
Skip to Content

Community Energy Planning Committee


The Community Energy Planning Committee was established by City Council on September 10, 2007, following the completion of the Community Energy Plan (CEP). The Committee consist of ten (10) members representing the community, as follows:

  1. The Mayor of the City of Yellowknife (ex-officio);
  2. One (1) Member of City Council;
  3. One (1) representative recommended by Ecology North;
  4. One (1) representative recommended by the Yellowknife Chamber of Commerce;
  5. One (1) representative recommended by GNWT Department of Public Works, Energy Division;
  6. One (1) representative recommended GNWT Department of Environmental and Natural Resources;
  7. One (1) representative from the NWT Power Corporation;
  8. One (1) representative from Arctic Energy Alliance's Community Energy Planning Section;
  9. One (1) representative of Northland Utilities;
  10.  One (1) representative from one of the Federal Funding Agencies: and
  11. Two (2) representatives from the public at large.

The City of Yellowknife's Energy Coordinator and the the Manager of Corporate Services and Risk Management assist the Committee by providing information or clarification.

The purpose of establishing the Community Energy Planning Committee (the Committee) is to assist the City of Yellowknife in an advisory capacity to ensure the CEP is implemented and evolves in an effective manner.

The scope of the Community Energy Planning Committee is to report and make recommendations to City Council through the appropriate standing Committee of Council on the progress and direction of the CEP implementation.

The next Committee meeting is to be determined.

Learn more about Yellowknife Community Energy Plan.

 Community Energy Planning Committee Minutes