Browser Compatibility Notification
It appears you are trying to access this site using an outdated browser. As a result, parts of the site may not function properly for you. We recommend updating your browser to its most recent version at your earliest convenience.
Skip to Content

Aquatic Centre Development Committee


The Aquatic Centre Advisory Committee (ACAC) was established on February 26, 2018 for the purpose of assisting Council in advisory capacity by making recommendations on issue relating to the development of an Aquatic Centre.  The ACAC was dissolved in fall 2018 when their Aquatic Centre Pre-Design Plan was adopted for information by Council.

Council established the Aquatic Centre Development Committee (ACDC) and adopted the Terms of Reference on March 25, 2019.

The purpose of the ACDC is to assist the City of Yellowknife in an advisory capacity by considering and making recommendations to Council through the appropriate standing committee on issues related to the design and development of an Aquatic Centre to achieve a facility that meets the needs of the community and is within the financial capability of the City.

The Aquatic Centre Development Committee shall consist of members appointed by Council and shall include the following members:

  • The Mayor of the City of Yellowknife – ex-officio;
  • One (1) Member of City Council;
  • One (1) representative from the Yellowknife Polar Bear Swim Club;
  • One (1) representative from the Seniors;
  • One (1) representative from the NWT Recreation and Parks Association;
  • One (1) representative from a Yellowknife Business;
  • One (1) representative from the Yellowknives Dene First Nation;
  • One (1) Youth representative;
  • One (1) representative with knowledge/expertise in facility accessibility issues
  • Two (2) representatives from the General Public;
  • City of Yellowknife, Senior Administrative Officer (non-voting)
  • City of Yellowknife, Director, Community Services (non-voting)

A member of City Administration shall provide administrative support to the Committee.