Browser Compatibility Notification
It appears you are trying to access this site using an outdated browser. As a result, parts of the site may not function properly for you. We recommend updating your browser to its most recent version at your earliest convenience.
Skip to Content

Mayor's Task Force on Economic Development


Council established Mayor's Task Force on Economic Development and adopted the Terms of Reference on May 27, 2019.

The purpose of the Task Force is to provide input into development of the City of Yellowknife’s 2020-2024 Economic Development Strategy (the “Strategy”) and provide ongoing advice in the implementation phase of the Strategy.

In particular, the Task Force will assist in the development of the economic growth strategies for sectors identified by the Strategy, provide guidance on implementation, identify and leverage strength areas, and draw on existing economic development organizations, as well as municipal, territorial, Indigenous and federal governments, to ensure a collaborative effort resulting in economic growth.

 The Task Force will consist of the following members appointed by Council: 

  1. Mayor
  2. One Councillor
  3. One representative from each of the following sectors:
    1. Tourism
    2. Minerals
    3. Arts, Crafts and Film
    4. Agriculture and Fisheries
    5. Aviation, transportation, and logistics
    6. Real Estate (developers/realtors/builders/planning & engineering)
    7. Post-secondary
    8. Retail
    9. Hospitality
    10. Business owner
  4. One representative from each of the following:
    1. Yellowknives Dene First Nation
    2. Det’on Cho Corporation
    3. Yellowknife Chamber of Commerce
    4. NWT Tourism
    5. NWT/Nunavut Chamber of Mines
    6. CDETNO
    7. GNWT ITI
    8. CANNOR
  5. City of Yellowknife, Senior Administrative Officer
  6. City of Yellowknife, Director, Policy, Communications and Economic Development
  7. Any additional representatives as deemed appropriate by Council.

The Task Force shall meet as required to provide support in the City's efforts to advance economic development in Yellowknife.  The next meeting date is to be determined.

Mayor's Task Force on Economic Development timeline.

Mayor's Task Force on Economic Development Minutes



Hours of Operation

Winter Hours effective following the Labour Day Weekend
until prior to the Victoria Day Weekend (September to May)
Monday to Friday: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Saturday and Sunday: Closed

Summer Hours effective following the Victoria Day Weekend
until prior to the Labour Day Weekend (May to September)
Monday to Friday: 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday and Sunday: Closed

Mailing Address & Phone Numbers

Yellowknife City Hall
4807 - 52 Street, P.O. Box 580, Yellowknife, NT X1A 2N4

Switchboard - (867) 920-5600
Mayor/City Administrator - (867) 920-5634
Booking Clerk - (867) 669-3457
Municipal Enforcement (MED) - (867) 920-5630
After Hours (MED) - (867) 920-2737
After Hours (Public Works) - (867) 920-5699