Browser Compatibility Notification
It appears you are trying to access this site using an outdated browser. As a result, parts of the site may not function properly for you. We recommend updating your browser to its most recent version at your earliest convenience.
Skip to Content

University Post-Secondary Advisory Committee


Council established the University/Post-Secondary Advisory Committee (UPAC) and adopted the Terms of Reference on May 28, 2018.

The purpose of the UPAC is to provide advice and guidance to the City throughout the development of a response to the Study and will inform the City’s efforts to establish the presence of a university/post-secondary institution in Yellowknife, as articulated in the Aurora College Foundational Review Report.

The  University/Post-Secondary Advisory Committee consist of members appointed by Council and include the following members:

  • The Mayor of the City of Yellowknife - ex-officio: Rebecca Alty
  • One (1) Member of City Council: Julian Morse
  • Two (2) non-voting advisory representatives from the Government of the Northwest Territories:

         i)     One (1) representing the Department of Education, Culture and Employment

         ii)    One (1) representative with expertise in knowledge, research and leadership

  • Two (2) representatives from the Yellowknife business community: Sarah Erasmus and Nick Lawson
  • One (1) recent graduate from a university/post-secondary institution: Jennifer Pit
  • One (1) representative from the Yellowknife Chamber of Commerce: Rob Warburton
  • One (1) representative from the NWT and Nunavut Chamber of Mines: David Connelly
  • Up to four (4 )representatives from academic independent research organizations (such as University of Alberta, Institute for Circumpolar Health Research, Hotii T’seeda, Dechinta, etc): Josee Clermont, Stephanie Irlbacher-Fox, Kimberly Fairman and Kelsey Wrightson.
  • Up to four (4)  representatives from Indigenous Governments and/or research institutes attached to Indigenous Governments: Giselle Marion and Catherine Lafferty.
  • Any additional representation as deemed appropriate: Yacub Adam, Stephen Ellis, Roy Erasmus, Lisa Giovanetto and Fiona Schmigelow. 

The UPAC shall meet as required to provide support to the Study. The next meeting is scheduled for September 20, 2019 at 12:00pm (date and time subject to change).

Council adopted for information the University Feasibility and Benefits Study on January 28, 2019.

 University/Post-Secondary Advisory Committee Minutes