Browser Compatibility Notification
It appears you are trying to access this site using an outdated browser. As a result, parts of the site may not function properly for you. We recommend updating your browser to its most recent version at your earliest convenience.
Skip to Content
RCMP: 669-1111 Fire & Ambulance: 873-2222

Yellowknife 50th Anniversary


Yellowknife 50 Anniversary

Northwest Territories Political History

From 1905 to 1967 the seat of government for the Northwest Territories was located in Ottawa and consisted of a federally appointed Commissioner and his staff. Northerners were rarely consulted before new laws and regulations were enacted. For decades residents of the Northwest Territories had voiced their concerns over having little or no control over how the territory was run. 

In 1965 the Territorial Council passed a motion calling on the federal government to review the north's political situation. Resulting in the Carrothers' Commission.

50th Anniversary Events

Activities will be thematically organized around honouring and respecting our past, recognizing the successes of the present, and envisioning the possibilities of the future. The campaign will reflect the capital's role in the community, the territory, and in Canada.

Anniversary commemorations will begin with a campaign launch on May 1, 2017, and will continue until May 1, 2018.

Signature Events
A series of events that incorporate Yellowknife's 50th Anniversary branding and themes. 

  • Acknowledging our past
  • Recognizing our present
  • Looking forward to our future

Submit your organization's proposal to host a Signature Event here.

Our Capital 
Testimonials and stories from people across the territory who now call Yellowknife home.

A collection of stories presented by residents of Yellowknife and the Northwest Territories. Performed at the Northern Arts Cultural Centre.

Please check our Community Calendar or watch for updates on Signature Events, Our Capital and Storytelling on the City's Facebook and Twitter channels, in the weekly newsletter, Capital Update and in the media.

Download the 50th Anniversary logo here. Contact us at for additional versions.

Additional Links


Photo Gallery: Yellowknife 50 Anniversary will appear here on the public site.