Browser Compatibility Notification
It appears you are trying to access this site using an outdated browser. As a result, parts of the site may not function properly for you. We recommend updating your browser to its most recent version at your earliest convenience.
Skip to Content

Yellowknife 50th Anniversary


Yellowknife 50 Anniversary

Northwest Territories Political History

From 1905 to 1967 the seat of government for the Northwest Territories was located in Ottawa and consisted of a federally appointed Commissioner and his staff. Northerners were rarely consulted before new laws and regulations were enacted. For decades residents of the Northwest Territories had voiced their concerns over having little or no control over how the territory was run. 

In 1965 the Territorial Council passed a motion calling on the federal government to review the north's political situation. Resulting in the Carrothers' Commission.

Additional Links

Photo Gallery: Yellowknife 50 Anniversary will appear here on the public site.