Browser Compatibility Notification
It appears you are trying to access this site using an outdated browser. As a result, parts of the site may not function properly for you. We recommend updating your browser to its most recent version at your earliest convenience.
Skip to Content

Yellowknife 50th Anniversary


Yellowknife 50 Anniversary

Northwest Territories Political History

From 1905 to 1967 the seat of government for the Northwest Territories was located in Ottawa and consisted of a federally appointed Commissioner and his staff. Northerners were rarely consulted before new laws and regulations were enacted. For decades residents of the Northwest Territories had voiced their concerns over having little or no control over how the territory was run. 

In 1965 the Territorial Council passed a motion calling on the federal government to review the north's political situation. Resulting in the Carrothers' Commission.

Additional Links

Photo Gallery: Yellowknife 50 Anniversary will appear here on the public site.

Hours of Operation

Winter Hours effective following the Labour Day Weekend
until prior to the Victoria Day Weekend (September to May)
Monday to Friday: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Saturday and Sunday: Closed

Summer Hours effective following the Victoria Day Weekend
until prior to the Labour Day Weekend (May to September)
Monday to Friday: 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday and Sunday: Closed

Mailing Address & Phone Numbers

Yellowknife City Hall
4807 - 52 Street, P.O. Box 580, Yellowknife, NT X1A 2N4

Switchboard - (867) 920-5600
Mayor/City Administrator - (867) 920-5634
Booking Clerk - (867) 669-3457
Municipal Enforcement (MED) - (867) 920-5630
After Hours (MED) - (867) 920-2737
After Hours (Public Works) - (867) 920-5699