Browser Compatibility Notification
It appears you are trying to access this site using an outdated browser. As a result, parts of the site may not function properly for you. We recommend updating your browser to its most recent version at your earliest convenience.
Skip to Content
RCMP: 669-1111 Fire & Ambulance: 873-2222

City Council and Mayor

|
 

aerial photo of Yellowknife

Contacts

Mayor's Office
General Inquiries
4807 52 Street
P.O. Box 580
Yellowknife, NT X1A 2N4
Map this location
P. (867) 920-5693
F. (867) 920-5649
Email the Mayor
Web page


The Council of the City of Yellowknife is comprised of eight Councillors and one Mayor who are elected for three year terms.

Council meetings are held in the Council Chamber at City Hall on the second and fourth Monday of each month (except June, July, August and December) at 7:00 p.m. and are open to the public.

You can browse the Council Agendas and Minutes (current year) and Meeting Archives (past years).

Tentative 2017 Council and Committee Calendar

Tentative 2018 Council and Committee Calendar

 Any person who wishes to speak at a City Council meeting may do so provided that notice is first given to the City Clerk's Office at 920-5602, no later than 10:00 a.m. on the Thursday preceding the Council meeting. Delegations (or presentations as they are more commonly known) pertaining to items on the agenda are heard by Council shortly after the meeting convenes. Delegations pertaining to items not at the agenda are heard generally after the business of the meeting has been dealt with. While there is no limit to the number of presentations which may be made by the public, the length of each is limited to five minutes. In the interest of time, presenters are urged to refrain from repeating the same information as previous speakers. 

The meetings of Council and its Committees are regulated by the rules contained in the Council Procedures By-law. Procedures have evolved over the years and are intended to facilitate efficient handling of Council business. The provisions of the Procedures By-law are observed both by Council and by its Committees.

The Mayor is the Chief Executive Officer of the City and is responsible for its overall operation.

Contact Council    
All Members of Council council@yellowknife.ca  
Mayor Mark Heyck mayor@yellowknife.ca  867-920-5693
Councillor Rebecca Alty ralty@yellowknife.ca  
Councillor Adrian Bell abell@yellowknife.ca 867-446-9800
Councillor Linda Bussey lbussey@yellowknife.ca 867-446-4380
Councillor Niels Konge nkonge@yellowknife.ca  
Councillor Shauna Morgan smorgan@yellowknife.ca  
Councillor Julian Morse jmorse@yellowknife.ca 867-446-0276
Councillor Steve Payne spayne@yellowknife.ca  
Councillor Rommel Silverio rsilverio@yellowknife.ca  
Councillors' Office citycouncil@yellowknife.ca 867-920-5693
Feedback