Browser Compatibility Notification
It appears you are trying to access this site using an outdated browser. As a result, parts of the site may not function properly for you. We recommend updating your browser to its most recent version at your earliest convenience.
Skip to Content

Audit Committee


This Committee oversees the financial reporting process on behalf of City Council and the public.  The Committee is comprised of six members ordinarily residing in the City of Yellowknife, including a Member of Council, an accountant, a lawyer, a professional engineer, and a member of the community with considerable experience in the operation and management of a large entity.  The Mayor also sits as an ex officio voting member of the committee.

The Audit Committee meets at least four times per year, including a meeting with the City's auditors at least twice per year without City management being present.  Duties of the Committee include:

  • recommending internal and external auditors for appointment by City Council;
  • reviewing with City management any internal or external auditor issues concerning the financial reporting process;
  • providing regular reports of Audit Committee activities to Council;
  • preparing a letter to be included in the City's annual financial statements that describes the Audit Committee's activities and responsibilities; and
  • performing other activities, if any, that Council or the Committee deems necessary.

The Audit Committee By-law provides more information on this committee.


Hours of Operation

Winter Hours effective following the Labour Day Weekend
until prior to the Victoria Day Weekend (September to May)
Monday to Friday: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Saturday and Sunday: Closed

Summer Hours effective following the Victoria Day Weekend
until prior to the Labour Day Weekend (May to September)
Monday to Friday: 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday and Sunday: Closed

Mailing Address & Phone Numbers

Yellowknife City Hall
4807 - 52 Street, P.O. Box 580, Yellowknife, NT X1A 2N4

Switchboard - (867) 920-5600
Mayor/City Manager - (867) 920-5634
Booking Clerk - (867) 669-3457
Municipal Enforcement (MED) - (867) 920-5630
After Hours (MED) - (867) 920-2737
After Hours (Public Works) - (867) 920-5699