Browser Compatibility Notification
It appears you are trying to access this site using an outdated browser. As a result, parts of the site may not function properly for you. We recommend updating your browser to its most recent version at your earliest convenience.
Skip to Content

Homelessness Commission


The Everyone is Home : Yellowknife's 10 Year Plan to End Homelessness was completed in 2017, and one of the many recommendations noted was the development of Homelessness Commission, geared specifically to end homelessness in Yellowknife.

The Homelessness Commission comprised of Indigenous, municipal and territorial leaders will:

  1. Collaborate to end homelessness through strategic partnerships;
  2. Provide high level direction on the strategic implementation of  Everyone is Home : Yellowknife's 10 Year Plan to End Homelessness.

Through quarterly meetings, the Commission will lead the implementation of the 10 Year Plan to End Homelessness by approving an annual plan through a supportive and collaborative structure.  The Commission will work to lead strategic priorities and opportunities that allow for the continued delivery of programs and the establishment of new initiatives and prevention strategies.

The Homelessness Commission will consist of the following members:

  • Chief – Yellowknives Dene First Nation
  • Indigenous Elder
  • Mayor – City of Yellowknife
  • Councillor – City of Yellowknife
  • Minister–NWT Housing Corporation/Minister Responsible for Homelessness
  • City Administrator – City of Yellowknife (Ex-Officio)
  • President – NWT Housing Corporation (Ex-Officio)
  • Administrative Support – City of Yellowknife

Homelessness Commission Terms of Reference 

Homelessness Commission Minutes


Hours of Operation

Winter Hours effective following the Labour Day Weekend
until prior to the Victoria Day Weekend (September to May)
Monday to Friday: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Saturday and Sunday: Closed

Summer Hours effective following the Victoria Day Weekend
until prior to the Labour Day Weekend (May to September)
Monday to Friday: 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday and Sunday: Closed

Mailing Address & Phone Numbers

Yellowknife City Hall
4807 - 52 Street, P.O. Box 580, Yellowknife, NT X1A 2N4

Switchboard - (867) 920-5600
Mayor/City Manager - (867) 920-5634
Booking Clerk - (867) 669-3457
Municipal Enforcement (MED) - (867) 920-5630
After Hours (MED) - (867) 920-2737
After Hours (Public Works) - (867) 920-5699